Rehab Exit Interview: Cassandra Tytler

by

1. Briefly describe your experience at comic artist rehab:

I liked the fact that I only had to draw four panels each time. Usually my stories at six at a minimum, but often 12 or more. Having four panels meant that I could tell smaller stories, which meant I felt freer. It was nice having my work online and reading people’s comments on what had been posted. It was also nice that other people were doing the same thing as me on the other days, and also great to meet them all. Gave me a sense of community.

2. What, if anything, did you learn from the program?

That the interest in my comics isn’t in my skills as a drawer, and to stop being paranoid about my lack of technique.

3. Which one of your own comics are you most pleased with and why?

Probably my one about living in France cos it’s a story I like to tell, but not enough people ask!

4. Which one of your own comics are you least pleased with and why?

Maybe my one about Aussie men, cos I’m not entirely sure it made sense, and in a way what I was feeling wasn’t thought through enough, or at least was hard to communicate in four panels.

5. Do you hope to keep up drawing comics after rehab? If so, how often.

Yes, but it was great to have rehab to push me along.

6. Any suggestions for future rounds?

Can’t think of anything. All ran smoothly for me and can’t think of any changes necessary. Thanks!

Tags:

Leave a comment