Artist Introduction: Jo Waite

by

My name is Jo Waite. I draw comics. I have been drawing comics ever since I got roped in to draw Revolutionary Art for my Anarchist Comrades that had to go on an early version of  what used to be called a ‘ photocopier’; so I had to learn to draw in black & white, and trim back some of the surrealist elements of my work and make it more directly narrative and understandable by normal people…. that was in 1984. I have been getting better at drawing but I think I am still interested in the same things. Only now I am 45 I think I might have had enough life to start drawing some autobiographical comics… or what passes for auto bio. I wear various masks, but I think those who know me will say that my most popular characters, One Sock The Lovesick Devil and Aunty Frank the Melbourne misanthrope are merely versions of me.

Leave a Reply

