Round 8 Exit Interview: Amber Carvan

by

1. What were you hoping to get out of rehab? Did you get it?

I love going into rehab. The rules and the peer pressure both help me to get back into the groove when I’m feeling, well, in need of some special treatment. This relapse round certainly didn’t disappoint. I finished the month feeling invigorated and bursting with ideas. In fact, I want to do it all over again. Oh dear, do you think I might be addicted to rehab? I wonder if there’s some sort of treatment program for that?

2. What was the most unexpected thing about this round?

I was unexpectedly relaxed about this round of rehab. I didn’t stress out too much about my comics (in comparison to my previous stint), didn’t get hung up on comments and I was relatively chilled about the whole process just working without much intervention on my part. What a wonderful relief!

3. What – about your own comics – made you happiest during this round?

I’m feeling very comfortable with my comics right now – and in a good way. While there are often things that I wish I could change, I’m generally very pleased with how they’re turning out. My consistency is improving. And occasionally I feel like I really nail an image which is a great feeling. My favourite image from this round is panel two of my final rehab comic – in bed with my phone.

4. What – about your fellow rehabbers’ comics – made you happiest during this round?

I adored all my fellow round 08 rehabbers before we even started and their lovely work made me admire them even more.

Helen’s drawing is so tight at the moment it makes me want to eat whatever it is that she’s having for breakfast. Being a lovely spinster myself, I thought her lovely spinster series was a delight!

I was really impressed with the attitude that Adam came in with – ie, to not get stressed out and to go back to basics. I think he did a marvelous job and I really liked the way his story took off (and landed).

Nicola’s drawings are awe-inspiring. My favourite thing about her pics are the incidentals – children climbing monkey-like over fences, street cars, cafes, tattoos. She is tops talent.

5. Are you rehabilitated now?

Irrevocably.

6. Where can people see your comics in the future?

I’m thinking of going old school and putting out a regular mini-comic again. But hang on, I think I may have said that last time. I detect a pattern!

Seriously though. I have a heap of projects on the boil at the moment and am interested in experimenting with some new ways of telling stories through comics. You can stay tuned to @berrybasket on Twitter for breaking news.

* Lying face down on the trampoline – drawing my shadow.

3 Responses to “Round 8 Exit Interview: Amber Carvan”

  1. Miss Helen Says:

    I eat carmens fruit free museli and sometimes with a bit of stewed apple on top. Always with quite a lot of milk(lite or soy) and a dark, sweet coffee. xoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxxoxoxoxoxoxo

  2. bowb Says:

    you sewed it!! i *love* red thread. will you please put out a printed comic? i would like to do rehab again one day, ms a. not today though. maybe july? 🙂

  3. Adam Ford Says:

    yay amber. minicomics! I’ve been thinking of how to put mopheahead into a mini, but the format is all wrong – it won’t fit on the page in the way i want it to…

    …so i’ll have to do it a different way

Leave a Reply

