Round 8 Exit Interview: Miss Helen

by

I blame Peter Garrett.

1. What were you hoping to get out of rehab? Did you get it?
Something to fill in time during feb! Yes, I got it. Also forced practice/creativity.
I’d totally fallen into a creative gulch, and now feel like I’m climbing the rope out. I’ll probably use these comics in a zine, and, like Adam, had been feeling the not good enough bullshite that plagues us creative types.

2. What was the most unexpected thing about this round?
That I wasn’t organised enough to get my comic done before I went to bunny sit. I feel bad about that.  Also, how much better my drawing is compared to that in the last round. I am shocked! Practicing really really really helps!

3. What – about your own comics – made you happiest during this round
Turning the idea of the lovely spinster into a comic. My lovely spinster entourage giving me ideas about what to draw. Growing confident enough to draw right away in pen(no sketchin) and also I did little character studies of things I was unsure about, like of the dog in the last comic. I was also happy with the balance between sweetness, darkness and cheekiness in this series.

4. what – about your fellow rehabbers’ comics – made you happiest during this round?
Amber’s earthiness, spot colouring +fragility, Adam’s Nacho ravioli(and daughter’s’s colouring in), Nicola’s Monkey Boy’s sleeve.

5. Are you rehabilitated now?
Hells yes!!! I hope I can keep it up. Maybe at the self imposed rate of 1x comic per week?

6. Where can people see your comics in the future?
In zines, I suppose. Hopefully by the time the next zine fair rolls around, I’ll be feeling all sane and able and will go an sell. Otherwise there’s my bloggygog http://www.spycore.net , or my flickr http://flickr.com/photos/spycore . I’m studying design at the moment, and trying my best not to overtax the self in order to avoid bad.

7. Any suggestions for future rounds?
More comic boy groupies would have been nice. I’d like some sort of routine maintenance round, or something, that asks graduates to come back for a check up or something?

This picture is vain, but it shows the artist in her natural environment. Thanks everyone +sorry for commenting while still logged into the comic rehab account(hopefully I edited them to say it was me) and for uploading images in a state of panic multiple times and getting confused, generally, and to Amber for needing to sms me at the end of many days to make sure I was ok(love love love!!!!). xoxoxooxoxxoxxoxo

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

