Artist Introduction: Leigh Rigozzi

by

Hi there! I’m Leigh Rigozzi, an artist/caretaker living in Sydney. I just finished my Master’s in Visual Art last year and now find myself in the improbable position of having to teach a short course in zine drawing.
I am doing comic rehab to try and get over the recent loss of an entire project’s worth of drawings. I’ve had a concept kicking around in my head for the last few months, so it’s finally time to bring it to fruition. It has been over a year since I attempted tp produce any sort of narrative, so I hope readers will excuse my extremely rusty skills.

7 Responses to “Artist Introduction: Leigh Rigozzi”

  1. Sam Says:

    Yay! Rigozzi!

  2. Darren Close Says:

    Look forward to seeing what you come up with Leigh 🙂

  3. Vanessa Hutchinson Says:

    What happened to the complete project worth of drawings?..that must have been terrible!

  4. Leigh Says:

    I left them in an old lady’s shopping trolley.

  5. John Weeks Says:

    Hang in there dude, there’s more where that came from. Gabrielle Bell had to redraw an entire issue of her comic ’cause she lost her comic. But the wellspring flows eternal.

  6. Jo McGivern Says:

    Hi Leigh,
    I’m a Visual Arts teacher at Barker College in Hornsby and was interested to see whether you would be interested in doing a lecture on your work and comic book making. If at all interested, please let me know. I’m teaching Year 9 boys and they would love your work.
    Thanks,
    Jo

  7. Natalie Blyth Says:

    Hi Leigh,

    Not sure if this is going to get to you or not.

    We met some time ago in Hobart when we were doing the NEIS scheme.
    And I still have your business card – though the site I think is a relative’s of yours for furniture design.

    No matter.
    I was needing an illustrator to do some work for me for a project I am doing for a company called “NILS” Tasmania (No interest Loans).

    I understand you are in Sydney (from what I’ve googled). Are you still doing illustration and in your comic style? There wasn’t anything
    on your website but I found your work in the comicrehab.wordpress.com and I think your style would suit this project. I need 4-5 different characters.

    How much per hour do you charge?

    Kindest Regards,
    Natalie Blyth

    “Ringwood”
    232 Gillingbrook Rd,
    Forcett Tas 7173

    (T) 03 6265 8168
    (M) 0438 540 898

Leave a Reply

