Rehab Exit Interview: Vanessa Hutchinson

by

1. Briefly describe your experience at comic artist rehab:

First of all thanks Amber for instigating the whole show! I have really enjoyed being part of Comic Artist Rehab. I feel that it was an important thing for me to do. I did pick a difficult time – my partner and I were in the middle of renovations and I had to go on a business trip right in the middle of it as well…but it was OK I still got my comics in on time. I thought the feedback from the other rehabbers (past and present) was great and it felt very supportive.

2. What, if anything, did you learn from the program?

I actually learnt some surprising things. I haven’t had much of an audience for my work outside of my friends and family, so it was certainly an invigorating experience to share my comics with a broader audience. I was also surprised to learn that I can draw to a deadline and enjoy it. Every one’s feedback was really good for me and I felt encouraged.

3. Which one of your own comics are you most pleased with and why?

I think I liked the day 7 comic the best. I really enjoyed drawing the tree. My hand hurt afterwards but I felt a real sense of achievement by the end.

4. Which one of your own comics are you least pleased with and why?

I was pleased with all my drawings but if I had to pick on that I was the least pleased with it would be Lucky Winners . I liked my drawings but I wished I had used my own handwriting rather than the font and not rushed it so much.

5. Do you hope to keep up drawing comics after rehab? If so, how often.

I do intend to keep drawing, but I haven’t done much since I finished rehab. I would like to draw everyday even if it’s just a scribble. I don’t want to loose the momentum that I generated while at rehab. Thursday night is ostensibly my art night – Jim, my partner, cooks and I don’t answer the phone. It doesn’t always work out every week but the intention is there.

6. Where can people see your work in the future?

I’d like to say that you can see more work at my website…but guess what else I’ve been procrastinating about! I’m working on it at the moment and not sure when it will be finished but it will be fantastic when it’s done. I have a blog where I post things every so often. I will be submitting some work to a couple of publications that will be coming out later in the year but I won’t jinx myself by mentioning what they are. I will announce it on my blog if and when it happens.

7. Any suggestions for future rounds?

I really encourage people to take the time to leave comments! It really makes a difference and the insights that others have are really appreciated.

I would love it if there was a continuing rehab programme – maybe some kind of project that involves past rehabbers. Maybe a kind of “where are they now” a month on or so.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

