Rehab Exit Interview: Emily Reed

by

1. Briefly describe your experience at comic artist rehab:

I was excited to give it a go but also totally intimidated by the drawing – there were ideas I had that I simply couldn’t do. But I loved having the assignment in my head all the time. I love how it made me look at my day, searching for the four panels.

2. What, if anything, did you learn from the program?

I now realise (on an even deeper level!) how much thought, work and skill goes into a good comic.

3. Which one of your own comics are you most pleased with and why?

I think I like #4 –the one handed activities. Because the things were easy enough to draw so that they didn’t get in the way of the idea.

4. Which one of your own comics are you least pleased with and why?

Definitely #6 –the drawing of the old man. i was trying to capture a particular tone that my drawing just wasn’t up for.

5. Do you hope to keep up drawing comics after rehab? If so, how often.

Yes, I’d like to keep adding comics to my blog -it’s a nice change to the writing. But we’ll see. The rehab deadlines were a nice motivator.

6. Where can people see your work in the future?

www.7000days.com (warning: it’s a baby blog)

7. Any suggestions for future rounds?

Themed?

Tags:

One Response to “Rehab Exit Interview: Emily Reed”

  1. Rebecca Umlauf Says:

    Emily,

    I am planing a cartoon projects and would love for you to be involved if you have the time. It will not begin till next year. Maybe you could do it one handed.

    Rebecca
    rebeccaumlauf@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

