Artist Introduction: Sarah Howell

by

sarah-profile-headshot_aug-06.jpg

My name is Sarah Howell and I avoid making comics everyday. I’ll surf the net, I’ll do my taxes, I’ll clean the bathroom, all to avoid making comics. Most insidious of all is my habit of designing and producing opportunities for other people to be creative.

I started off making the occasional mostly silent comic 1998 – 2000, they looked pretty but didn’t make a lot of sense. I didn’t make any comics for a few years after that and in the last three years I’ve drawn my journal entries as comics on and off, recently collecting a selection of these from 2007 into a zine.

I’m entering Rehab to commit to making work that has a bit more polish than my journal entry fare, though I may still keep the art fairly simple. I will be happy at the end if the posts have an overall narrative that keeps the attention of the reader.

Kicking this rehab off with the Alcoholics Anonymous prayer which came to me in a Christmas cracker.

“God grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I can, and the wisdom to distinguish the one from the other” – Reinhold Neibuhr (1892 – 1971) American Theologian

Good luck to my fellow rehabers and thank you to those who have been before.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

