Rehab exit interview: Ive Sorocuk

by

1. Briefly describe your experience at comic artist rehab:

I had a ball! It felt great doing regular one page strips again, I really hope it becomes a habit for me. Early on I let myself get stressed out about the sizes and the layout but playing around with them is where I found the most fun.

As a reader it was cool to see what the others were up to each day. Tim was the only other artist this round I had heard of before and I’m a fan so it was great seeing regular strips by him while it lasted.

2. What, if anything, did you learn from the program?

I learned that deadlines work. I learned that the main problem I have in making comics is in the actual starting. Once I have one doodled out it takes so much weight off my brain.

3. Which one of your own comics are you most pleased with and why?

The second one I did with Bandit Ghost. It was such a simple easy to draw one and I love how it turned out coloured. “Story”wise it has a beat to it that I like and is unlike most comics I do.

4. Which one of your own comics are you least pleased with and why?

The New World War strip on Day Nineteen. I just feel I have drawn that same strip a million times. I’m setting things up and referencing past strips without adding anything and it ends without a punchline. I do like the look of it but wish I had spent as long writing it than I did drawing it.

5. Do you hope to keep up drawing comics after rehab? If so, how often.

Yeah! I planned to use Comic Artist Rehab to complete at least one story I have going so i’ll get onto that. I’m thinking of at least two pages a week for the next few months.

6. Any suggestions for future rounds?

None.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

