Rehab Exit Interview: Claire Robertson

by

1. Briefly describe your experience at comic artist rehab:

When Amber first posted about Comic Artist Rehab I thought it was such a great idea that I signed up without really thinking about what might be involved. It hit me pretty quickly that while I have done a few things in the past I am not really a comic artist and that this was going to be a real challenge for me. Fortunately I came up with an idea for an ongoing narrative right from the beginning and while I was not exploring new ground (motherhood? again? eh!) it meant that I didn’t have torture myself finding a new story each week. This would have been the hardest bit for me and would have probably meant that I would have fallen off the wagon very early on. Knowing this, I scripted the story out from day one and only deviated from it on day 16 when the story took on a bit of a life of its own.

I really wish I had broken out a little and tried some different stuff, stylistically and story-wise (I did go out and buy some ink and brushes) but in the end it was more a case of just getting *something* up by the designated day.

It was hard work and I had to grapple with lots of demons and a feeling of not having enough time but overall I am *so* pleased I took part. The support was great and I got to develop a couple of characters who I want to go on and do more things with. Not only that but it’s my first foray back into blogging for a while and it’s made me think about coming back to my own blog again. The whole exercise has been really inspiring for me.

Here is a photo I took with my phone this morning of the real Warm Kitty and Louise (looking a bit worse for wear these days).

warmkitty_louise_snap.jpg

2. What, if anything, did you learn from the program?

Deadlines really work for me. I won’t do anything if not for a deadline. Also, I really did surprise myself with how much I enjoyed the whole experience.

3. Which one of your own comics are you most pleased with and why?

I liked the story on day 24 although if I was going to do it again I would *definitely* swap panel three and four around (thanks bowb!). I challenged myself to do a comic with a lot less words and found it worked out ok. Obviously the drawing was a tad rushed in this one, so alternatively I like day 8 as I feel the compositions and the colours are pretty good.

4. Which one of your own comics are you least pleased with and why?

I hit a real ‘blah’ patch on day 20 which is when I stopped colouring my work. I didn’t really get my groove back for the rest of the month. The story didn’t seem to flow and it was getting a repetitive . I think if I had more time to think the whole thing out and these were longer than four panels I might have taken the whole story off on a more fantastical (silly) path at this point.

5. Do you hope to keep up drawing comics after rehab? If so, how often.

I didn’t think I would want to but now we’ve had a few days off and the pressure has gone I am starting to imagine what a full length story would be like… so yes! I also just got my new copy of Tove Jansson’s Moomin (Book Two) and she really inspires me. But will I actually get to it? Probably not for a while.

6. Any suggestions for future rounds?

The mix of style of the four rehabbers was terrific. I think it made the month really interesting. It would be great to continue to have a good mix like this. Hopefully the word will spread about the project because the cheering in the comments was really helpful. I will come back to cheer on future rehabbers for sure!

Tags:

Leave a Reply

