Rehab Exit Interview: David Tang

by

1. Briefly describe your experience at comic artist rehab:

It was a pretty stressful experience actually, in between work and life, it didn’t leave much time for making comics. But somehow I managed to get the comics out. A big part of it was not wanting to let down my fellow Comic Rehabers after all if they can do it, so can I.

I had to give up a lot of things though, I’m actually going to Bali next week and was planning to work out my guns. But because I had to make so many comics, I didn’t have time to go to the gym! So I’ll be traveling with a bit more flab than I would’ve liked 😦

2. What, if anything, did you learn from the program?

Whenever I’m not actively making comics, for some reason I always think I can draw a page quickly and easily. For example I would often waste away a weekend and say “ahhh… I’ll work on comics later, there’s still time.” But when I finally get around to starting, I barely manage a panel.

Participating in Comics Rehab makes me remember how long it takes to make a page, and unless I set aside sufficient time – it’s not going to happen.

3. Which one of your own comics are you most pleased with and why?

Day twenty-three: “All dressed up” (part 3), looking at the art it’s probably one of the best pages I’ve ever drawn. I struggled for AGES trying to get the likenesses down of my friends in panel 2 but in the end, I’m really happy with the results.

4. Which one of your own comics are you least pleased with and why?

Day nineteen: “Things to do before I turn 30” was a very last minute comic. It was probably around this time that I hit a funk and my output started to go downhill. My art (with the exception of the next week’s) just wasn’t as strong as the previous weeks.

5. Do you hope to keep up drawing comics after rehab? If so, how often.

I’m going to take a couple weeks off, but afterwards I am aiming for a panel a day for a few weeks, take a break, rinse and repeat. I’ve got some good momentum right now and it would be a shame to let it fizzle out. But we’ll see.

6. Any suggestions for future rounds?

It would be good to get the word out more. Especially early on, when there were more people around, cheering and commenting – it encouraged me to produce better work, because I wanted to impress people. But towards the end, it felt like I was in a desert – making even four panels every four days a mammoth task.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

