Round One: Day Twenty Two

by

what is it about healthy cake? it’s always such a let down. just the other day i bought a lush strawberry and rhubarb tart from a “natural” cafe. the glistening strawberries and stewed rhubarb were perfect. the pastry, on the other hand, was like a handful of seeds and grains pressed into a pie dish. it tasted like what i imagine those moulded birdseed things taste like. i don’t like leaving food, much less cake, but there was a lot of pie crust left over that afternoon.

also, i handlettered this to start, really, and it just looked pitiful.

Tags:

5 Responses to “Round One: Day Twenty Two”

  1. Gem Says:

    these comic things are so cool.

  2. India Amos Says:

    Eeuw—you just reminded me: my vegan friend left a weird, gelatinous chocolate “cake” in my fridge a couple of weeks ago. I haven’t seen it for a while; it may be gathering itself for an attack . . .

  3. adam Says:

    i have a delicious (actually delicious) recipe for a strawberry tart that’s 100% dairy free. and delicious. really. non-vegans ask me to make it.

  4. John Weeks Says:

    As a youth, I was diagnosed as allergic to chocolate. Obviously, this early trauma turned me into the alienated adolescent I was to become.
    Either I built up a tolerance or the allergy went away; just in time for me to get spots.

    Carob drinks, no problem. Carob as a meal, no thanks. I think the best way to approach it as a taste in its own right, not a substitute for chocolate.

    (If someone could just invent garlic chocolate shrimp, I’d have no need to eat anything else.)

  5. ragingyoghurt Says:

    […] you get a painful memory about cake gone wrong. how’s that for chasm of disappointment? eh? Permalink|Comments RSS Feed – Post a […]

Leave a Reply

