Round One: Day Twelve

by

claireweek03.jpg

Here is Manfred’s debut (thank you David for the name suggestion!).

As you can see I am not really trying anything new from week to week… same ol’ same ol’… so perhaps I am missing the point of the project.

However, I am feeling quite good about developing these little characters because I want to do more things with them in the future and they were only figments when I set out. Then again perhaps I should be taking this opportunity in this cozy rehab environment to lash out and try something as crazy (for me) as doing some hand-drawn stuff. I did go out and buy some ink and brushes the other day as I was feeling all excited about comics again (yay!) but all the new gear is still stowed away in its Art Riot bag… or maybe I should try some autobiographical stuff as I am loving (loving) my other rehabber’s strips (but who am I kidding?… Warm Kitty is largely autobiographical and a mother/baby daughter theme is only very thinly disguised as a cat/egg theme — although no one I know actually had a kid roll out a door, as such).

I am still seeeeething over that Leunig strip, Bowb. I had never seen it before and I am amazed!! I always have loved Leunig so… sigh.

Hey – next round marks half way, I think! Woot!

Tags:

5 Responses to “Round One: Day Twelve”

  1. davidtang Says:

    Oh man this is my favourite one yet!

  2. bowb Says:

    oh the drama! i love warm kitty’s face in the third frame.

    i really like that your comic is a serial. have you plotted it out already ’til the end, or are you making it up as you go? it’s great that you’re getting to develop the characters, even if you don’t think you’re making any out-there, experimental comics. but, ooh! will you be hand-drawing the next one? with a brush?? how exciting!

  3. Ian T. Says:

    Excellent stuff – funny and dramatic! I hope there’s not a goanna down the road…

  4. Ive Says:

    The last line is beautiful!

  5. Amberrrr Says:

    Your style is just so fabulous, and so quintessentially you. Of course I’m super excited at the prospect of seeing some old-fashioned ink and brush drawings but I reckon that the ‘if it ain’t broke…’ adage could apply equally as well.

    Louise is adorable. I love that she has a seam down the middle of her face. It makes me squeal with the cuteness of it all!

    [eeeeee]

    Looking forward to the next episode!

Leave a Reply

