Artist Introduction: Amber Carvan

by

amber_rehab.jpg

“Writing comics has always come fairly easily to me, but drawing them has always been a challenge. The most disciplined I’ve ever been as an artist was when I was working to deadline on ‘Brick Dog and Other Stories’. At the time I hoped that I would be able to maintain the momentum after the project ended, but I couldn’t. Not even a little bit. Kids will do that. Oh, and and laziness too. Making comics just faded into the background.

Years later I’ve come to realise that identifying as a comic creator is really very important to me. And drawing the comics that I hate to draw seems to be necessary for my soul. At the recent writer’s fest in Newcastle it hit me like a ton of bricks and I could see how little contribution I’ve made in the past five years to the creative community that has supported and nurtured me in the past. This simply has to change!”

Tags:

Leave a Reply

