Rehab exit interview: Tempo Spindle

by

1. Briefly describe your experience at comic artist rehab:

This has been hands down one of the most rewarding experiences for me dealing with comics and the internet. I have fiddled about in isolation for a long time and it was really nice to get feedback that was not from friends and family. At the same time it was a little intimidating, everyone else that participated this round is in some way a professional artist. I am not. But I think I held my own and for once stuck to a schedule.

2. What, if anything, did you learn from the program?

That deadlines are doable for me. I would self impose them in the past, but they never felt that important, or I would get bogged down with something else. Because I was a part of a greater whole though, I felt compelled to not mess this up and in the end really got into the swing of things.

3. Which one of your own comics are you most pleased with and why?

This is a two fold answer for me. The best produced, in my opinion, was Day Eighteen. It is clean and understandable. Also I think I got used to using the digital font work in a way that looks organic. Day Twenty Two however is my favorite for stylistic reasons. Being a disciple of Scott McCloud I am always looking for a way to make things more iconic and evocative. It is a fools errand at best most of the time, but I like the way this comic comes together with an icon set that is simple and still manages to tell a story.

4. Which one of your own comics are you least pleased with and why?

Day Six hands down. I rushed the first comic after a marathon driving session but it still turned out the way I wanted it to (a little sloppy but the idea was there). Day Two should have been better, I knew what I had to do and when it was due, I had no other obligations to attend to. I got lazy and pushed back the drawing time until the last possible moment. I disappointed myself greatly with this entry.

5. Do you hope to keep up drawing comics after rehab? If so, how often.

Yes I do plan to stay actively drawing. I am thinking about keeping up the every four day rotation over on Amerigo Infernox, though in reality I think once to twice a week would be a better schedule. I also plan to redraw the comics I laid out here in rehab. I have some extra time and I think that the story itself actually makes a good intro for a character I did not mean to create (the bald cop) and a good segue for the mummy (Dead Eddie) who shows up in all of my previous comic ambitions.

6. Any suggestions for future rounds?

I think that all in all the format is solid. It would be nice to see more people gravitate over to this site and have it become a kind of regular destination for web comic fans. Indeed I believe that it has that kind of potential. It just needs a little more exposure across the whole of the internet, and that should just take time and a good amount of participation on the part of newcomers and alumni alike.

Tags:

One Response to “Rehab exit interview: Tempo Spindle”

  1. clockwork leviathan: the illustrated hubris of will b. Says:

    [...] was done a couple years back when I participated in a group blog Comic Artist Rehab under the name Tempo Spindle. I think for some reason i hosted all the images for that run on my own, now defunked, website. [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

